Jakaya Kikwete launches EAC election observer team ahead of polls

Jakaya Kikwete launches EAC election observer team ahead of polls

BY NAMULONGO PETER,NAIROBI,1ST AUG,2022-Former Tanzania President Dr Jakaya Kikwete on Monday launched  the  Election Observation Mission (EOM) to the General Election scheduled for Tuesday next week.

Speaking at Serena Hotel, Dr Kikwete who heads the East African Community (EAC) delegation announced the arrival of 52 election observers from EAC partner states.

The team arrived in Nairobi on Monday and will be dispatched in 15 groups to all regions in the country. They will observe the elections and assess the level of preparedness of the key electoral stakeholders.

“The team is drawn from key governance and independent institutions of the partner states and civil society organisations. They will be in the country from August 1,2022 and depart on August, 12, 2022,” said Dr Kikwete.

Former Tanzanian President Jakaya Kikwete addressing journalists during the launch of the East African Community Election Observation Mission on August 1, 2022 at Serena hotel, Nairobi.

The observers are also tasked to assess the level of compliance of the electoral processes and management to the international, regional and national established laws, as well as evaluating how Kenya adheres to EAC’s democratic principles as enshrined in the treaty.

“The treaty requires EAC partner states to uphold “good governance including adherence to the principles of democracy, the rule of law, accountability, transparency, social justice, equal opportunities, gender equality as well as the recognition, promotion and protection of human and people’s rights in accordance with the provisions of the African Charter on Human and People’s rights,” explained Dr Kikwete.

Announce findings

Dr Kikwete noted that the mission’s arrival in the country honours an invitation by the Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission (IEBC), and is a fulfillment of the mandate of the EAC to observe general elections in partner states.

Facebook Comments Box