Setting the Pace:IEBC gazettes names of returning officers ahead of polls

Setting the Pace:IEBC gazettes names of returning officers ahead of polls

BY JOAN WANJIKU,NAIROBI,4TH APRIL,2022-The Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission (IEBC) has gazetted the names of all Returning Officers (ROs) who will be in charge of the August 9 General Election.

The gazette notice dated April 28  indicated that IEBC chair Wafula Chebukati will be the Returning Officer for the Presidential Election on August 9.

IEBC has named the Constituency Returning Officers and Deputy Constituency Returning Officers in the notice.

Returning Officer for Kenyan citizens residing outside the Country will be Abdidahir Maalim and the Deputy Returning Officer is William Tumaini Kahindi.

“The appointments are for the purpose of the August 9, 2022, General Election exercise,” the gazette notice read.

“The Constituency Returning and Deputy Returning Officers shall also be Registration and Registration Assistants for purposes of the verification of the register of voters exercise scheduled to be conducted from May 4, 2022, to June 2, 2022.”

Roles of Returning officers

  • Announces election results in a designated electoral unit;
  • Signs the official results declaration forms;
  • Forwards official results to the national tallying centre in the case where electronic transmission system is used;
  • Forwards official result declaration form to the national tallying centre;
  • Declares the winner in a given electoral unit;
  • Signs and issues an official certificate to the winner;
  • Is in charge of recruitment, training and deployment of election officials;
  • Determines disputed votes.
Facebook Comments Box