Strengthening EACC:Uhuru nominates Cecilia Mutuku, John Ogallo as members

Strengthening EACC:Uhuru nominates Cecilia Mutuku, John Ogallo as members

BY KORIR JUMA,NAIROBI,5TH APRIL,2022-President Uhuru Kenyatta has nominated Dr. Cecilia Mbinya Mutuku and John Ogallo as members of the Ethics and Anti-Corruption Commission.

The two, if approved by MPs, would fill the positions that were left vacant by Dabar Abdi Maalim, and Rose Mghoi Macharia who resigned last September.

“Having received the report of the Public Service Commission on the recruitment of persons for appointment as Commissioners, His Excellency the President has forwarded the two names to fill the existing vacancies,” a statement by Speaker Justin Muturi reads.

National Assembly Speaker Muturi said in a message from the President to members that he now seeks the approval of the nominees by the House.

The Public Appointments (Parliamentary Approval) Act, (Act No. 33 of 2011), requires the National Assembly to undertake the exercise within 28 days.

The appointments would be considered by the Departmental Committee on Justice and Legal Affairs (JLAC).

“The Committee is expected to notify the nominees and the general public of the time and place for holding the approval hearings and thereafter, upon conclusion of the hearings, table its report to enable the House to consider the matter within the statutory timelines,” Muturi said.

The two former commissioners resigned from their posts as they drew close to the completion of their six-year term.

Dabar Abdi Maalim, and Rose Mghoi Macharia’s resignation was accepted by the President.

They were appointed on December 17, 2015.

Facebook Comments Box