Ruto suffers three defeats in political parties bill debate

Ruto suffers three defeats in political parties bill debate

BY NAMULONGO PETER,NAIROBI, 5TH JAN,2021-Deputy President William Ruto has so far suffered three defeats in today’s Political Parties (Amendment) Bill, 2021, after his allies lost Wednesday’s motions.

In the latest setback, an amendment fronted by Nambale MP John Bunyasi, which was backed by DP allies and those affiliated to ANC leader Musalia Mudavadi, was shot down by the Handshake team.

Allies of the DP and those affiliated to Mudavadi lost a bid to have political parties in a coalition allowed to field their candidates for seats other than that of the president


MP Bunyasi had proposed amendments that would allow coalitions to only field presidential candidates but individual member parties be allowed to field candidates for other positions.

The bill was supported by Kikuyu MP Kimani Ichung’wa

The amendment was put to a vote where 111 supported the amendment while 132 (54 per cent) rejected the changes.

President Uhuru Kenyatta and ODM leader Raila Odinga allies rejected the amendment saying it defeats the essence of the Political Parties (Amendment) Bill, 2021.

“I oppose the amendment. You cannot deny a party the right by law on who to nominate. You cannot define what a political party can do,” said Majority leader Amos Kimunya.

Before the vote, they attempted to implore the lawmaker to drop the amendment arguing that the bill has already provided that the coalition exists as a political party.

The DP also lost a bid to expunge from Political Parties (Amendment) Bill, 2021, a clause on the timelines of formation of coalitions before a general election.

The amendments by Garissa Township MP Aden Duale were shot down after 128 MPs voted against while 104 lawmakers voted in support.

In yet another defeat, allies of DP Ruto were unable to block Majority Leader Amos Kimunya’s bid to have clause 8 considered as part of the bill.

When the amendment was put to vote, the Handshake team trounced the DP’s camp after getting 153 votes for the ayes against Tangatanga’s 53 votes for the nays.

The debate on other amendments is on course.

Facebook Comments Box