Two EACC commissioners resign ahead of expiry of term

Two EACC commissioners resign ahead of expiry of term

BY KORIR JUMA,NAIROBI,1ST SEPT,2021-Two commissioners from Ethics and Anti-Corruption Commission have resigned from their posts as the drew close to completion of their six-year term.

Dabar Abdi Maalim, and Rose Mghoi Macharia’s resignation was accepted by President Uhuru Kenyatta.

They were appointed on December 17, 2015.

Following their resignation, EACC chairperson Eliud Wabukala said that the two contributed immensely to the commission and that their efforts have bolstered the stability and optimal performance of the commission.

“We wish to express our sincere gratitude to the two members for their immense contribution in strategic direction, policy formulation, and oversight in the management of the affairs of the commission,” Wabukala said.

Section 9(b) of the EACC Act 2011 provides for the resignation of a member of the commission by way of notice in writing addressed to the president.

Following Mghoi and Maalim’s exit, the Wabukala-led commission remains with Sophia Lepuchirit and Mwaniki Gachoka as commissioners.

Maalim was formerly a Member of the Transition Authority and Chair of the Functional Analysis, Assignment and Costing sub-committee of the Authority.

Mghoi joined EACC from the Commission for the Implementation of the Constitution, where she served as the Director in charge of the Management Services; providing strategic support to all Commission programmes.

Recruitment is expected to begin.

Facebook Comments Box