latest Judiciary changes affects 23 high court judges

latest Judiciary changes affects 23 high court judges

BY NAMULONGO PETER,NAIROBI,30TH JULY,2021-High Court judge Justice Weldon Korir who is among six judges rejected by President Uhuru Kenyatta has been transferred from Nairobi.

Korir is among the 23 judges who were transferred to different stations across the country in changes announced by Chief Justice Martha Koome and set to be effective on October 1, 2021.

The nominated court of appeal Judge who is currently stationed in Milimani Constitutional Division was transferred to head the Kabarnet High Court.

Justice Joseph Sergon was transferred to Kakamega while Justice John Mativo was sent to head the Mombasa High Court.

Mombasa Judge Eric Ogola was moved to Eldoret and Justice Olga Sewe moved to Mombasa.

Justice Chacha Mwita was moved back to Nairobi to the Commercial Division while Justice Grace Nzioka was sent to Nyeri from Milimani and Justice Abigail Mshila who is currently in that station will move to Nairobi in the commercial division.

Justice Jairus Ngaah who is currently at the Milimani Judicial Review Division was promoted to head that division.

The position was left vacant after Justice Pauline Nyamweya who was the head got elevated to the Court of Appeal.

Justice Antony Ndungu currently stationed in Kisii will join Judge Ngaah at the Judicial Review Division.

Judge Ngenye Macharia has been moved from Nairobi to Naivasha where she will head that station while Justice David Kemei currently in Machakos moved to Bungoma.

Justice Reuben Nyakundi was moved from Malindi to Eldoret and will swap positions with Justice Stephen Githinji while Justice Stella Mutuku will take over in Kajiado.

Justice Justus Bwonwonga was moved to Milimani Criminal Court from Kabarnet while Justice Janet Mulwa will be based at Civil Division Milimani.

Justice Dora Chepkwony Dora Chepkwony was moved from Mombasa to Criminal Division in Milimani, Justice Margaret Muigai to Machakos and Justice Richard Mwongo to Kerugoya while Hedwig Ongudi will head the Constitutional and Human Rights Division at Milimani court.

Since she took over, Justice Koome has made several changes in the Judiciary as part of efforts to streamline the operations there.

Many eyes are on her amid the push to clear the backlog of cases in courts.

She recently established eight new Environment and Land court stations, raising the number to 34.

Eight judges will from next month sit full-time in the newly established courts in Nyamira, Kilgoris, Siaya, Vihiga, Kwale, Isiolo, Homa Bay and Nanyuki.

Justice Koome said she hopes to see improved access to justice and expeditious disposal of cases.

The judges comprise 18 from the Land court and nine from the Employment and Labour Relations Court (ELC).

Facebook Comments Box