Morris Kimuli sworn-in as a member of IEBC Selection Panel

Morris Kimuli sworn-in as a member of IEBC Selection Panel

BY JOAN WANJIKU,NAIROBI,28TH MAY,2021-Law Society of Kenya representative Morris Kimuli was Friday sworn-in as a member of the Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission (IEBC) Selection Panel.

The panel will oversee the filling of the four vacant positions at IEBC.

In a gazette notice dated May 26, President Uhuru Kenyatta appointed Morris Kimuli to replace Dorothy Kimengech Jemator whose appointment was revoked.

Jemator’s nomination and the appointment had been opposed by a section of LSK members.

She had been nominated by a faction of the LSK governing council led by CEO Mercy Wambua to represent the organisation in the seven-member selection panel.
Also Read  Court annuls President Kenyatta’s 128 parastatal appointments

She was subsequently appointed by President Kenyatta.

Kimuli was sworn in by Judiciary Registrar Anne Amadi in a brief ceremony at the Supreme Court.

The seven-member selection panel is now fully constituted.

Chief Justice Martha Koome, who attended the swearing-in asked the selection panel to be guided by the constitution and its values. The panel Chair Elizabeth Muli promised to undertake their duties without fear or favour.

” We wish you well and pray that God will guide you and help you to pick Commissioners who will deliver, free fair and credible elections’’ – CJ Martha Koome

” This Selection Panel has the responsibility of picking nominee Commissioners for IEBC. Elections are central in this country and we pray that you will be guided by nothing else other than the Constitution.’’ Added the CJ Martha Koome

The law Society of Kenya nominated Kimuli as its representative to the IEBC selection panel. It had opposed Jemator’s appointment arguing that she holds three State offices.

Other members of the IEBC selection panel are Gideon Solonka, James Awori, Elizabeth Odindo Meyo, Joseph Mutie, and Suleiman Abdalla.

Facebook Comments Box