Bars to remain closed as president Uhuru bans sale of alcohol in restaurants in 5 counties

 199 total views,  1 views today

BY NAMULONGO PETER,NAIROBI,26TH MARCH,2021-President Uhuru Kenyatta on Friday  suspended the operations of bars in five counties beginning midnight Friday as part of a string of new measures aimed at combating the increasing cases of COVID-19.

President Kenyatta, in an address to the nation at State House in Nairobi, listed the five counties as Nairobi, Machakos, Kajiado, Kiambu, and Nakuru.

According to the Head of State, the measure was necessary since 70 per cent of Kenya’s COVID-19 infections cases were recorded in the said counties.

While declaring the counties as “disease-infected areas”, President Kenyatta similarly banned the sale of alcohol in restaurants and eateries until further notice within the listed places.

The President also aded that all restaurants and eateries in these counties shall henceforth provide take away services only.

“The operations of bars, restaurants and eateries in the other 42 counties shall continue as is, but they shall at all times be conducted in strict fidelity to Ministry of Health guidelines, failure to which appropriate action against management, staff, patrons and premises shall be taken,” he said.

Facebook Comments Box