Local News

FORD K, KANU, Wiper and ANC formally announce One Kenya Alliance to champion BBI and unity.

BY KORIR JUMA,NAIROBI,25TH MARCH,2021-The One Kenya Alliance will not participate in the forthcoming by-elections and will instead support candidates fielded by the Jubilee Party.

Members of the alliance, which brings together Kanu, Wiper, Ford Kenya and ANC parties, said the move was aimed at reciprocating the support Jubilee gave them in recent by-elections in Matungu, Kabuchai and Machakos.

Speaking during a press conference in Nairobi on Thursday, Ford Kenya party leader Moses Wetang’ula expressed gratitude to Jubilee for its support during the by-elections.

“In this regard, we shall reciprocate the same gesture in the forthcoming by-elections,” he stated.

Jubilee has since unveiled its candidates for the upcoming Bonchari, Juja and Garissa by-elections.

Former MP Zebedeo Opore will flag the party’s flag in Bonchari.

Susan Waititu will be the party’s candidate in Juja while Abdul Yusuf Haji will fly the Jubilee flag in Garissa.

The Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission slated the by-elections for Garissa, Bonchari, and Juja on May 18.

The by-election for Rurii Ward in Nyandarua County will also be held on the same date.

Wetang’ula said their victory in the concluded by-elections was an indication that the country was keen on a new transformational agenda.

“Today, we mark the beginning of a journey with a clear purpose to unite this country through a transformative agenda that seeks to create equal opportunities for all Kenyans,” he stated.

Mudavadi said members of the alliance will move together to sensitise Kenyans about their agenda.

“If for a moment you thought there was no alternative, I want to tell you there is one- the One Kenya Alliance,” he said.

Kalonzo said the alliance will bring fresh air to Kenyan politics.

“We are ready to show Jubilee the tricks we used to win the seats,” he added.

Gideon said their match to State House is unstoppable.

“Once the Covid-19 rules are lifted, we will embark on countrywide tours to sell our agenda,” he added.

Also present at the media briefing were former Kiambu Governor Ferdinand Waititu and Kajiado Governor Joseph ole Lenku.

Others were senators Cleophas Malala (Kakamega), Petronilla Were (Nominated), Abshiro Halake (Nominated), Enock Wambua (Kitui) and MPs Chris Wamalwa (Kiminini), Peter Nabulindo (Matungu), Nasr Sahal (Nominated), Charles Kanyi (Starehe), Patrick Makau (Mavoko),Edith Nyenze (Kitui West), William Kamket (Tiaty), Gladwell Cheruiyot (Baringo County) and Mohammed Hire (Ladgera)

Facebook Comments Box

Passionate about human interest issues . I write stories meant to make the world a better place!