Local News

17 patients die as Kenya records 1,225 new COVID-19 cases

BY JOAN WANJIKU,NAIROBI,18TH MARCH,2021-The Ministry of Health on Thursday announced that 1,225 people tested positive for COVID-19 out of a sample size of 7,308 tested in the last 24 hours, taking the total confirmed infections to 117,535.

Health Cabinet Secretary Mutahi Kagwe, in a statement to newsrooms, said 142 patients recovered from the coronavirus; 83 of them were from the Home-Based and Isolation Care while 59 were discharged from various health facilities, pushing the total recoveries to 89,203.

CS Kagwe however also noted that 17 patients succumbed to COVID-19, taking the cumulative fatalities to 1,954.

The CS further stated that a total of 355,500 vaccine doses have so far been distributed to 10 regional stores countrywide from a total allocation of 530,000 doses. The regional stores include Eldoret, Garissa, Kakamega, Kisumu, Mandera, Meru, Mombasa, Nairobi, Nakuru, Nyeri and the Military.

From the 1,225 cases, 1,166 are Kenyans while 59 are foreigners; 691 are males and 534 are females, while the youngest is a one-year-old baby and the oldest is 93.

The cases were recorded across various counties namely; Nairobi 731, Kiambu 197, Machakos 53, Mombasa 41, Nakuru 31, Uasin Gishu 30, Nyeri 27, Kajiado 23, Garissa 11, Meru 8, Nyandarua 8, Kilifi 7, Laikipia 6, Busia 6, Kirinyaga 6, Makueni 6, Kakamega 5, Kisii 4, Lamu 3, Bungoma 3, Taita Taveta 3, Kisumu 3, Baringo 2, Murang’a 2, Nandi 2, Narok 2, Tharaka Nithi 1, Trans Nzoia 1, Elgeyo Marakwet 1, Embu 1 and Wajir 1.

The 731 cases in Nairobi are from Dagoretti North (93), Westlands (90), Lang’ata (78), Roysambu (53), Kibra (51), Kamukunji (41), Makadara (39), Kasarani (35), Embakasi West and Mathare (32) cases each, Embakasi South (31), Ruaraka (30), Embakasi Central (27), Dagoretti South (26), Embakasi East and Starehe (25) cases each, Embakasi North (23).

In Kiambu, the 197 cases are from Thika (49), Ruiru (32), Kiambu Town (24), Kiambaa (21), Kikuyu (19), Lari (14), Limuru (12), Githunguri (10), Kabete (7), Juja (5), Gatundu South (3), Gatundu North (1).

In Machakos, the 53 cases are from Athi River and Machakos Town (12) cases each, Matungulu (11), Kangundo and Mwala (7) cases each, Kalama (2), Kathiani and Masinga (1) case each.

In Mombasa, the 41 cases are from Nyali (11), Mvita (10), Kisauni (8), Jomvu (6), Likoni (4), Changamwe (2). In Nakuru, the 31 cases are from Naivasha (11), Nakuru East (7), Nakuru West (6), Molo (4), Nakuru North, Rongai and Subukia (1) case each.

In Uasin Gishu, the 30 cases are from Ainabkhoi (13), Kesses and Turbo (7) cases each, Kapseret (2), Moiben (1). In Nyeri, the 27 cases are from Tetu (6), Mathira East and Nyeri Central (5), Kieni East and Mukurweini (4) cases each, Kieni West (2) and Nyeri South (1).

In Kajiado, the 23 cases are from Kajiado North (16), Kajiado East (4) and Kajiado Central (3). In Garissa, the 11 cases are from Dadaab (6) and Garissa (5). In Meru, the 8 cases are from Imenti North (4), Buuri (2), Imenti South and Tigania East (1) case each.

In Nyandarua, the 8 cases are from Ol Kalou (5) and Kinangop (3). In Kilifi, the 7 cases are from Kaloleni (4), Kilifi North (2) and Malindi (1). In Laikipia, all the 6 cases are from Laikipia East (6).

In Busia, the 6 cases are from Matayos (4) and Teso North (2). In Kirinyaga, the 6 cases are from Kirinyaga Central and Kirinyaga West (3) cases each. In Makueni, the 6 cases are from Makueni (4), Kaiti and Kilome (1) case each.

In Kakamega, the 5 cases are from Butere, Lugari, Lurambi, Malaya and Mumias West (1) case each. In Kisii, the 4 cases are from Bobasi, Bonchari, Kitutu Chache South and Nyaribari Masaba (1) case each.

In Lamu, all the 3 cases are from Lamu West. In Bungoma, the 3 cases are from Kanduyi (2) and Sirisia (1). In Taita Taveta, the 3 cases are all from Taveta while in Kisumu the 3 cases are from Kisumu Central, Kisumu east and Nyakach (1) case each.

The 2 cases in Baringo are from Baringo Central and Koibatek (1) case each, the 2 cases in Murang’a are from Kandara and Kiharu (1) case each, the 2 cases in Nandi are from Emgwen and Nandi Hills (1) case each and the 2 cases in Narok are all from Trans Mara West.

The case in Tharaka Nithi is from Chuka, the case in Trans Nzoia is from Saboti, the case in Elgeyo Marakwet is from Keiyo North, the case in Embu is from Runyenjes and the case in Wajir is from Wajir East.

“A total of 793 patients are currently admitted in various health facilities countrywide, while 2,250 patients are on Home Based Isolation and Care. 114 patients are in the Intensive Care Unit (ICU), 28 of whom are on ventilatory support and 81 on supplemental oxygen,” added CS Kagwe.

“5 patients are on observation. Another 38 patients are separately on supplementary oxygen with 30 of them in the general wards and 8 in the High Dependency Unit (HDU).”

Facebook Comments Box

Passionate about human interest issues . I write stories meant to make the world a better place!