22 lawyers including Karua,Musyoka conferred upon rank of Senior Counsel

 234 total views,  1 views today

BY KORIR JUMA,NAIROBI,20TH JULY,2020-President Uhuru Kenyatta  on Monday  conferred the rank of senior counsel  on  22 Advocates of the High Court of Kenya .

Among those who will now join the coveted, exclusive club of senior lawyers in the country is Wiper Leader Kalonzo Musyoka and Kibaki-era Justice Minister Martha Karua.

Others include: OM Parkash Nagpal, Fackson Wainaina Kagwe (dr), Pravin Kumar Bowry, Charles Waweru Gatonye, Rautta Athiambo, Fredrick Ngatia, Mohamed Nyaoga, Phillip Murgor, Albert Mumma, Beautah Alukhava, Kiragu Kimani, Judy Thogori, Talib Ali Talib, Wilfred Nderitu, Zehrabanu Janmohamed, John M Ohaga, Kioko Kilukumi, Patricia Mande Nyaundi, Dorcas Agik, Abdikadir Hussein Mohamed, Paul Otiende Amollo and John Mugwimi Chigiti.

The presidential prerogative to confer the rank and dignity of Senior Counsel is set out under the Advocates Act.

The conferment is done in accordance with the recommendations of the committees on Senior Counsel, to the Advocates of the High Court who are distinguishable by their exemplary service in legal and public service arenas.

President Kenyatta congratulated the 24 new Senior Counsels saying the date for the conferment will be communicated.

The Law Society of Kenya (LSK) began sending out notification letters to successful applicants in September 2019.

The letters were dispatched after the Senior Counsel Committee completed vetting 90 applicants who applied for consideration.

Kenya now has 48 Senior Counsels including the newly conferred as listed by the LSK website.

Senior Counsel or its abbreviation SC is the pinnacle of professional achievement given to exemplary legal minds.

In Kenya Senior Counsels are given precedence in addressing the court and normally sit at the front of the bench in court.

The last time the titles were conferred was in 2012.

Facebook Comments Box