Local News 

Back to the drawing board as Senate rejects Murkomen motion for 11-member team to hear governor Waititu impeachment

3,817 total views, 2 views today

BY NAMULONGO PETER,NAIROBI,21ST JAN 2020-The Senate will have to use another approach in handling Kiambu governor Ferdinand Waititu’s impeachment motion after the senate on Tuesday shot down a motion seeking to establish an 11-member committee to investigate the impeachment of of the Governor.

Senate Majority Leader and Elgeyo Marakwet Senator Kipchumba Murkomen,  is the one who had tabled the motion which proposed Kakamega Senator Cleophas Malala as the Chair of the committee deputised by his Nakuru counterpart Susan Kihika.

File image of the Senate in session. PHOTO| COURTESY

Members of the committee included Senators Sylvia Kasanga (Nominated), Mohamed Faki (Mombasa), Okong’o Mogeni (Nyamira), Fredrick Outa (Kisumu), Hargura Godana (Marsabit), Aaron Cheruiyot (Kericho), Anuar Oloitiptip (Lamu), Mithika Linturi (Meru) and Iman Falhada (Nominated).

The motion however  did not sail through  as 28 Senators voted against it with only 16 voting in favour of its establishment.

Kiambu governor Ferdinand Waititu|FILE IMAGE

The motion presented another political showdown as a majority of the Senators in support of the motion are allied to Deputy President William Ruto while those against were drawn from the pro-handshake team.

Senate Speaker Ken Lusaka will now gazette a date for the plenary proceedings which will now be attended by the whole House.

The Kiambu County Assembly in December last year voted to impeach Governor Ferdinand Waititu over alleged gross misconduct and abuse of office.

The motion to impeach him was proposed by Ndenderu MCA Solomon Kinuthia and passed by two-thirds of the MCAs in accordance with the County Government Act, 2012.

Governor Waititu however later on wrote to the Senate contesting his impeachment claiming it was unprocedural, adding that there was no quorum in the assembly.

Facebook Comments

Related posts