Local News 

Gershom Otachi appointed as NLC chairman for 6-year term

2,177 total views, 1 views today

BY JOAN WANJIKU,NAIROBI,2ND  OCT 2019-President Uhuru Kenyatta has appointed Gershom Otachi as the NLC chairman.

Apart from Otachi  Uhuru also through a Gazette notice  published on Wednesday, also appointed eight commissioners for a six-year nonrenewable term.

They are: former Nyeri Town MP Esther Murugi, former Egerton University vice chancellor James Tuitoek, former Isiolo Woman MP Tiyah Galgalo, Alister Mutugi, Reginald Okumu and Gertrude Nduku Esther Murugi, James Tuitoek, Getrude Nguku, Reginald Okumu, Kazungu Kambi, Hubbie Hussein Al-Haji, Alister Mutugi and Tiya Galgalo.

Former Labour CS Kazungu Kambi narrowly survived a plot to eliminate his name from the nominees for the National Lands Commission on Tuesday.

Otachi was among the battery of lawyers who represented Uhuru during his ICC case at The Hague.

The approval ends the long wait at NLC which has been without commissioners since the exit of the Swazuri-led team in February.

There had been calls for Swazuri to leave over integrity issues.


Facebook Comments

Related posts