It is all systems go for Migori Senatorial by-election set for Monday

It is all systems go for Migori Senatorial by-election set for Monday

BY NAMULONGO PETER/CORRESPONDENTS,7TH OCT 2018- Voters in Migori county  go to the polling stations to elect their senator on Monday with the Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission (IEBC) saying it is ready for the exercise.prepares to conduct the Migori Senatorial by-election on Monday, October 8.

Spot check conducted by our reporter in several parts of the county have revealed that security officers have already been posted to various poling centers  ahead of Monday.Voting materials have also been distributed.

 IEBC Commissioner Abdi Gulie and Migori Returning Officer Ruth Kulundu, has  confirmed the distribution of the election materials including ballot papers to various constituency tallying centres.

Mr. Gulie said all the polling centers would have the election materials by Sunday evening ahead of the Monday polls.

He promised a free and fair election, further asking the voters
in Migori County to come out and exercise their democratic right.

“In terms of preparation for poll materials and poll officials, we
have finalized all preparations. We hope the people of Migori will come
out in large numbers to exercise their democratic right and elect a
Senator of their choice,” said the commissioner.

Regional Police Commander Leonard Katana, also assured better security saying they have enough officers to oversee the exercise.

“Our mandate is to provide a secure, safe environment to the people
of Migori. The law says that when you vote you leave the polling station
and wait for the results,” said the police boss.

“To those few who think that they can bring other youth to this
region to do what is not right… I want to appeal to the youth not to be
misused by anybody.”

Six candidates are set square it out  tommorrow for the seat which was left vacant following the death of  Senator Ben Oluoch who died in June.

Among those whose names are on the  ballot paper  are  Dr. Ochilo Ayako (Orange Democratic Movement), Eddy Oketch (Federal Party of Kenya), Peter Jobando (Green Congress Party of Kenya), Solomon Hodo (People’s Democratic Party) as well as independent candidates Samwel Otieno and Dickson Ogola.

Polling centers are expected to be opened by 6am and close at 5pm with votes counting expected to begin shortly after.

Some  388,632 voters are expected to participate in the poll exercise across  826 polling stations in Migori County.

Facebook Comments Box