MPs vote for the second time in VAT bill

MPs vote for the second time in VAT bill

BY NAMULONGO PETER,NAIROBI,20TH SEPT,2018-Members of parliament have been forced to vote for the second time  in the VAT levy bill in parliament  after the first round of voting failed to produce the determining number of votes.

The National Assembly Speaker Justin Muturi had to  order  for a second round of voting  after the number of MPs in the House during the first vote was disputed.

Speaker Muturi said the screens in the House showed that there were 352 MPs in the House, which is more than the 349 members.

Consequently Muturi had to suspend  the sitting for 15 minutes so that the ICT department of Parliament can rectify the anomaly.

The first result had seen MPs endorse the proposal to effect 8 percent VAT on fuel products.

Ruaraka MP TJ Kajwang  earlier accused Majority Leader Aden Duale of leading a walkout of members to cripple the voting on the contentious levy.

The walkout was engineered after those in support realised that those opposed to the memorandum had the numbers to veto the President’s proposals.

The law requires that at least 233 of the 349 MPs must be in the House before any voting on such matter is done.

After the walkout, the initial headcount indicated  there were only 215 of them in the House, a number that has since been disputed.

Facebook Comments Box