President Uhuru signs Division of Revenue Bill into law

President Kenyatta signs bills into law at state house Nairobi on 13th Oct 2017-Twitter/Uhuru Kenyatta

 620 total views,  1 views today

BY JOAN  WANJIKU,10TH APRIL 2018-President Uhuru Kenyatta  on Tuesday  signed into law the Division of Revenue Bill for 2018/2019 financial year.

The Bill  provides for the division of revenue raised nationally between the national and county governments.

The Constitution provides for the vertical (equitable) sharing of revenue raised nationally between the two levels of government.

Article 202 of the Constitution, also provides for additional allocations to the county governments from the national government’s share of revenue.

These allocations can either be conditional (conditional grants) or unconditional.

The Bill was presented to the President for signing by National Assembly Speaker Justin Muturi.

Also present were Attorney General Paul Kihara Kariuki, Solicitor General Kennedy Ogeto and Assistant to the National Assembly Clerk, James Njoroge Mwangi.

The bill was  signed at State House, Nairobi .

Facebook Comments Box