KPL awards ceremony goes down as 2017 star players are recognized

 1,246 total views,  1 views today

BY KPRIR JUMA,NAIROBI,12TH JAN 2018-.The 2017 KPL awards ceremony went down on Friday evening in Nairobi with Zoo Kericho’s Michael Madoya  being named as  the 2017 Kenyan Premier League’s Most Valuable Player.

Madoya was also named the league’s Midfielder of the Year, moments after collecting the Fairplay Award while veteran Mathare United defender George ‘Wise’ Owino walked away with the defensive award.

Madoya had earlier scooped the New Player of the Year Award.

Kariobangi Sharks tactician William Muluya won the Coach of the Year Award after guiding the KPL debutantes to an impressive third-place finish.

Harambee Stars striker Masoud Juma, who recently moved to South Africa’s Cape Town City FC from Kariobangi Sharks, was awarded the Golden Boot after emerging top scorer in the 2017 season.

Sofapaka, who finished second on the standings some 19 points behind  champions Gor Mahia, were crowned the Fairplay Club of the Year.

In the most unexpected move of the year, Golden Glove Award was awarded to Posta Rangers goal keeper Patrick Matasi, pipping Kariobangi Sharks goalkeeper John Oyemba award. Matasi won the award in 2016.

On the other hand Badir Yasin was named the Centre Referee of the Year, with Jolawi Obondo  being honored with the Team Manager’s crown.

Facebook Comments Box