It is all systems go for inaugural ceremony of East Africa Legislative Assembly on Monday

 1,433 total views,  1 views today

BY NAMULONGO PETER,NAIROBI,17TH DEC 217-The fourth assembly of the East Africa Legislative Assembly (EALA) will be inaugurated on Monday  December 18 in Arusha, Tanzania following Kenya’s election of nine representatives on Thursday.

The nine elected nominees to EALA from Kenya are Hon Simon Mbugua, Hon Florence Jematiah, Hon Mpuri Aburi, Hon Aden Noor and Hon Wanjiku Muhia. Other members are Hon Oburu Odinga, Hon Kennedy Kalonzo, Hon Abdikadir Aden and Hon Fatuma Ibrahim.

According to  Bobi Odiko, EALA’s senior public relations officer the most important  issue  to be considered first during the week-long 1st Sitting of the 1st Session of the 4th Assembly, is the swearing-in of Members, election of the Speaker and that of Members to the EALA Commission as well as the constitution of various Committees.

The 3rd Assembly wound up its tour of duty on June 4th, 2017 and was expected to have commenced on June 5th 2017.

However by then, only Parliament of Uganda, Parliament of Tanzania, Parliament of Burundi and Parliament of Tanzania had finalised the processes.

Facebook Comments Box