NASA unveils committee to chart way forward on people’s Assembly

NASA unveils committee to chart way forward on people’s Assembly

BY KORIR JUMA,NAIROBI,1ST DEC 2017-The opposition National Super Alliance (Nasa) on Friday December 1st    unveiled a committee to assist  the coalition  successfully in implementing  the agenda of  the People’s Assembly.

The  seven member committee  will be chaired by economist David Ndii and will be responsible for coordinating programmes of all county assemblies that have so far passed the motion of the formation of the People’s Assembly.Addressing the press at the Okoa Kenya office in Nairobi during the launch former senators Johnstone Muthama and Boni Khalwale said the majority of Kenyans did not vote in the October 26 repeat presidential election and, therefore, President Uhuru Kenyatta does not have the mandate of majority of Kenyans.

“Kenyans have been asking us about the way forward after the election, today we have unveiled a committee that will continue to update the people on the way forward,” said Mr Muthama.

Mr Khalwale condemned police killings, saying Kenyans have continued to suffer police brutality under a regime that does not have the mandate of majority in the country.

The team will present its report to the Nasa principals before December 12, a date the opposition leader Raila Odinga said he will be ‘sworn in’ as the people’s president.

Other members of the committee are  Dr Mutahi Kangu, Peter Mathuki, former nominated Senator Judy Sijeny, Oduor Ong’wen,Hamida Kibwana and Koitamet Olekina.

The committee, eh said, will also provide a list of activities for December 12 when the coalition plans to swear in Mr Odinga.

The opposition said they would continue with the activities of the People’s Assembly despite an earlier court order issued in Kitui barring County Assemblies from discussing the motion.

Facebook Comments Box