National Assembly Speaker receives  names of NASA MPs to serve in various house committees.

National Assembly Speaker receives names of NASA MPs to serve in various house committees.

BY NAMULONGO PETER,NAIROBI,29TH NOV 2017-There is a little light at the end of a dark tunnel for the National Assembly after the  Speaker Justin Muturi  received and accepted the list of National Super Alliance (Nasa)  members to serve in various house committees.While this is seen as a sign of hope that soon house could commence its responsibilities the stalemate is still far from over.

This is beacuse NASA still seems to have issues with the entire issue.The list handed to Muturi  on Wednesday consists of   Junet Mohamed (Suna East) as minority whip,  Suba South MP John Mbadi as minority leader and  Robert Mbui (Kathiani) as his deputy.On the other hand Kiminini MP Chris Wamalwa has been appointed Mr Mohamed’s deputy.

Mr Muturi on Wednesday directed the leader of majority and minority to expedite the formation of House committees.

The Nasa list has been delayed for months after the alliance’s affiliate parties— ODM, Ford-Kenya and Wiper— squabbled over the limited House positions.

However shortly after  the speaker announced receipt of the nominees,  Msambweni member of parliament Suleiman dori and a few other coast parliamentarians  addressed the press where they protested the move.

According to them   Nasa did not call a parliamentary group meeting to choose the nominees.They claim the list lacks regional representation and gender balance.The list also doesn’t meet gender balance principals for it does not have a single woman.

Still on the same issue  Nasa said it would not submit a list of its members to the National Assembly Committee on Appointment.

The committee is chaired  speaker  Muturi and is responsible for vetting Cabinet secretaries as nominated by the president.


ODM  chair  John   Mbadi has made it clear that NASA will only submit the names to the other House committees— housekeeping, watchdog and departmental and not house business committee.

Facebook Comments Box