Uhuru declared winner of repeat presidential poll

Uhuru declared winner of repeat presidential poll

BY KORIR JUMA,NAIROBI,30TH OCT 2017-IEBC chairman Wafula Chebukati has declared Jubilee’s Uhuru Kenyatta and his Deputy William Ruto as president-elect and deputy president-elect respectively after the duo won the repeat presidential poll held last Thursday.

Mr Kenyatta garnered 98 per cent of the valid votes cast in the fresh election held last week and which was boycotted by his main challenger, Nasa’s Raila Odinga.

The declaration process, which is ongoing, started a few minutes to 4pm with Mr Chebukati reading the votes that each candidate got in each of the 47 counties.

The declaration is made without results from 25 constituencies in Nyanza that failed to vote on Thursday due to disruptions of polling.

Mr Chebukati said that the conditions that had been set for the repeat poll were met and that the fresh election credible, free and fair.

Facebook Comments Box