National Assembly approves list of Jubilee MPs to sit in House Business Committee,Awaits apposition’s list

National Assembly approves list of Jubilee MPs to sit in House Business Committee,Awaits apposition’s list

BY NAMULONGO PETER,NAIROBI,13TH SEPT 2017-The National Assembly on Wednesday  13th Sept, approved the Jubilee list of members to the House Business Committee as it awaits the opposition to select its representatives for the team to be fully constituted.

Among those  approved are  MPs  Shadrack Mose (Kitutu Mose), Amos Kimunya (Kipipiri),Meru Woman Rep Kawira Mwangaza and her Turkana counterpart Joyce Emanikor to be members of the committee before adjourning the morning session.

The adjournment means that the House did not have any other business to discuss. It will however resume business in the afternoon after Nasa has produced its list.

The National Super Alliance is required to agree on three names to the committee after a parliamentary group meeting Wednesday morning.

According to the House rules, the committee’s automatic members include the Speaker, the majority and minority leaders, the majority and minority whips.Jubilee’s automatic members to the committee are Majority Leader Aden Duale (Garissa Township), Deputy Majority Leader is Katoo ole Metito (Kajiado South), Majority Whip- Benjamin Washiali (Mumias East) and Deputy Majority Whip Cecily Mbarire.

Once fully constituted, the committee will retreat to come up with the order of business to be transacted in the House.

The approval of the Jubilee names was a subject of heated debate earlier in the day as to whether the House can proceed with the motion with names from one side.

ODM Chairman John Mbadi (Suba South) said there is no need for the House to be in a hurry in constituting the committee without the names from the minority side.

“The committee cannot transact any business until we bring our members so that it can be properly constituted,” Mr Mbadi said.

This comes even as NASA meets at the OKOA KENYA offices in Nairobi to come up with it’s list of who to represent them in various house committees. UPESINEWS.CO.KE has established that the parties that make up NASA that is ODM,ANC ,FORD K and Wiper for the better part of Wednesday were in closed up meeting that could largely be seen as the key to who will be in the list.

Facebook Comments Box