Results show clear cut  winners in 2017 elections   with 71% 0f   total votes counted

Results show clear cut winners in 2017 elections with 71% 0f total votes counted

BY NAMULONGO PETER/KORIR JUMA,9TH AUG 2017-President Uhuru Kenyatta is still leading  the presidential tally with 7618943  votes with NASA’s Raila Odinga  coming in  second  with 6241496 votes.

71 percent of votes  have been counted  so far with counting almost done.

In Nairobi  Gubernatorial race Mike Sonko of Jubilee is now  a head  with  789,000  votes ODM’s  Evans Kidero has 631,792

Independent candidate for the Thika town parliamentary seat Patrick Wainaina is is headed  for victory   with 54 510 votes against the incumbent Alice Ng’ang’a, who has managed 49 491 votes votes  as at 7am.

Following at a distance was George Muritu Gathecha of the Maendeleo Chap Chap with 450 votes

Mr Wainaina lost the Jubilee party ticket to Ms Ng’ang’a by 1,149 votes after she clinched 15,880 votes against his 14,731 votes in the party primaries.

He did not accept defeat and accused the MP of rigging him out. He opted to contest as an independent candidate.

Earlier this morning, Mr Wainaina expressed concerns over what he said were deliberate delays in transmission of results of some specific polling stations

candidates in Nakuru, Nyandarua and Narok have taken an early lead against their opponents as shown by provisional results of the just concluded election still trickling in.

Lee Kinyanjui, Francis Kimemia, and Samuel Tunai  were leading their opponents by a wide margin  on Wednesday morning.

In Nyandarua, the former Secretary to the Cabinet and former Head of Civil Service had secured 115,459 votes, representing 81.21 per cent of the valid votes by 3 am. The results were obtained from the official IEBC results page.

Dr Moses Badilisha, an independent candidate was trailing him with 14, 117 votes, while Mr Francis Muchina had polled 6,322 and the incumbent-Governor Daniel Waithaka Mwangi 6,273 votes by 3am.

In Nakuru, Mr Kinyanjui was leading at 250,702 votes representing 86.03 per cent of the 290,729 valid votes cast as at the updated results at 3 am.

The opposition had clearly been dealt a blow with its candidate- Chama Cha Mashinani’s Dr Peter Koros polling 22,619 votes, just 7.78 per cent of the valid votes at the time.

Independent candidates John Mututho, Senator James Mungai, Isahiai Gichanga and Kanu’s Nominated Senator Paul Njoroge had all polled under 5 per cent of the valid votes at the time.

Senator Mungai had put up an aggressive campaigns recently traversing the county in the hunt for voters as the election date drew close.

Both Mr Kimemia and Mr Kinyanjui won the Jubilee ticket for the seats, the latter battling it out with the outgoing Nakuru Governor Kinuthia Mbugua who had initially contested the nomination results and the former.

Mr Mbugua would later withdraw from the race with the intervention of President Uhuru Kenyatta and his deputy William Ruto, to support Mr Kinyanjui.

In Narok, Governor Samuel Tunai was leading his opposition opponents at 3 am with 54, 931 votes representing 53.62 per cent of the valid votes.

His strongest opponent-opponent- Narok West MP Patrick Ole Ntutu of Chama cha Mashinani was at 32, 861 votes representing 32.08 per cent of the valid votes while Mr Joseph Tiampati of ODM was at 14, 658 votes representing 14.31 per cent.

In Laikipia, independent candidate Ndiritu Muriithi had taken a lead against his closest and only rival- Governor Joshua Irungu at a small margin having managed to secure 52 43, 932 votes against 39,928 as at 3 am.

Should he maintain the lead, Mr Muriithi will be among candidates who could make history for vying against incumbent governors and candidates who had blessings of the main political parties in their areas.

In Samburu, Governor Moses Lenolkulal was leading his main opponent-Kanu’s  Mr Gabriel Lengoiboni with 19,837 votes against 12,153 as at 3 am. ODM’s Simeon Lesrima was trailing at 1,928 votes at the time of going to press.


Facebook Comments Box