We will get 10 million votes in August polls NASA flag bearer Raila Odinga reaffirms

We will get 10 million votes in August polls NASA flag bearer Raila Odinga reaffirms


BY NAMULONGO PETER/CORRESPONDENT,KISII,17TH MAY 2017-NASA flag bearer Raila Odinga has reaffirmed  that he will get more than 10 million votes in his fourth attempt to rule Kenya.

Raila who will be making at fourth  attempt into presidency said the National Super Alliance has put in place measures to ensure 95 per cent voter turnout in Nyanza and Western, which are strongholds.

“When we say that we will get more than 10 million votes, we are not joking. We mean business,” he said at Gusii Stadium on Wednesday.

But he expressed worry following the numbers of voters who turned up for the 2013 general election.

“We have approximately 2.7 million votes in Nyanza and we want to garner 2.5 million. In Western, out of the 1.9 million we want 1.5 million. We want to get majority votes from Nairobi, Coast and Nairobi,” said the Opposition chief.

“In Kisii and Nyamira counties, Uhuru got more than 25 per cent. I want party stalwarts to ensure Jubilee is completely locked out of Kisii.”

But Professionals and elders from Ukambani and the Coast have agreed to rally behind President Uhuru Kenyatta and DP William Ruto who want a second term.

Health CS Cleopa Mailu told more than 150 delegates at Maanzoni lodge at the weekend that there is no doubt regarding the development Uhuru has steered.

Raila further said NASA will win majority seats in Kisii and Nyamira counties but warned against infighting among affiliate parties.

“Our enemy is Jubilee Party. We should not fight amongst ourselves,” he noted.

The ODM leader revealed that once the voters roll is published, NASA will print and send it to every polling station for purposes of voter mobilisation.

“The committee will ensure that even the sick vote because every vote counts,” he said.

Raila was  accompanied with Kalonzo, co-principals Moses Wetangula (Bungoma Senator, Ford Kenya), Musalia Mudavadi (Amani National Congress) and Isaac Rutto (Bomet Governor, Chama Cha Mashinani). Others were governors Okoth Obado (Migori), James Ongwae (Kisii), John Nyagarama (Nyamira) and several MPs.

Facebook Comments Box