, NAIROBI, Dec 31 – The National Gender and Equality Commission has welcomed the nominations of new members to the Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission by President Uhuru Kenyatta following a rigorous vetting process.

The commission notes that the composition of the new team adheres to the not more than two thirds gender principle pursuant to Article 27 of the Constitution of Kenya 2010.

Communications Officer Daniel Waitere  in a dispatch to newsrooms saturday  commended the President for demonstrating his faith in men and women to steer the electoral process.

He urged Parliament to fast track the vetting process to enable timely preparations.

President Uhuru Kenyatta nominated Wafula Chebukati for the position of IEBC Chairman.

If approved by Parliament, Chebukati will succeed Issack Hassan.

President Kenyatta also nominated six others for the positions of Commissioners.

They are: Consolata Nkatha Bucha, Boya Molu, Dr Roselyn K. Akombe, Ambassador Paul Kurgat, Margaret Wanjala Mwachanya and Professor Abdi Guliye

Facebook Comments Box