Five applicants shortlisted for IEBC chair post

NAMULONGO PETER,NAIROBI, Kenya Dec 9 – Former Mombasa Mayor Taib Ali Taib and ex Judicial Service Commissioner Florence Muoti Mwangangi are among the five more candidates shortlisted by the Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission (IEBC) Selection Panel to replace Issack Hassan at the helm of the polls agency.

Former Mombasa Mayor Taib Ali Taib who is among the shortlisted candidatestaib

Others include advocates Wanyonyi Wafula Chebukati, Tukero Ole Kina and Lucas Leperes Ole Naikuni.

According to a notice published in the newspapers on Friday, the candidates are slated to be interviewed by the Bernadette Musundi led Selection Panel on December 19.

Subsequently, the Panel has urged members of the public to submit the views on the suitability of the five to hold the office by next Friday.

Apart from serving as the mayor of the Coastal city, Taib also runs his private law firm and recently was in the 6-member Commission of Inquiry set up by President Uhuru Kenyatta to inquire into claims for dissolution of Makueni County Government.

Mwangangi on the other hand was the former LSK representative at the JSC.

Apart from being the Manager Partner at Cootow & Associates Advocates, Wanyonyi Chebukati represented former EACC chairperson Phillip Kinisu.

The Musundi team had revoked the names of five candidates who had earlier applied for the post, citing unsuitability.

Section 6 of the IEBC Act provides that the chairperson of the Commission shall be a person who is qualified to hold the office of judge of the Supreme Court under the Constitution.

The five were asked not to re-apply for the vacancy.

Devolution expert Dr Mutakha Kangu, Roseline Odhiambo-Odede, who was a member of the now defunct Judges and Magistrates Vetting Board (JMVB), former Truth, Justice and Reconciliation Commissioner (TJRC) Margaret Wambui Ngugi Shava and advocates David Kiprop Malakwen and David Mukii Mereka who will now be interviewed on December 20 at County Hall.

After conducting interviews, the Selection Panel shall select two persons qualified to be appointed as IEBC Chairperson and nine others for appointment as commissioners of the electoral body whose names will be forwarded to President Uhuru Kenyatta for consideration.

Facebook Comments Box